About NAQT
  Contact Us
  How To...
  Buy Practice
  You Gotta
  2007 ICT
  2007 HS NCT


2004 NAQT Intercollegiate Championship Results

The University of California-Berkeley won its first NAQT ICT Division I overall title by going undefeated and beating runner-up Florida 395-295 in the final. The title was the second ICT championship for Berkeley, adding to the Division II title they won last year in Los Angeles. Michigan A took home the third place trophy while Yale and Maryland tied for fourth.

In the undergraduate competition, the University of Illinois finished sixth overall and defeated defending undergraduate champion Harvard 450-125 in the final to claim the championship. This is the second ICT title for Illinois, as they won the Division I overall title in 2000. Iowa State took third place with Caltech fourth and Carleton and Virginia sharing fifth place.

In Division II, UCLA captured its first-ever ICT championship of any kind by defeating Illinois in the final, denying Illinois the chance to become the first school to win multiple ICT championships in the same year. Harvard lost a tiebreaker match to Illinois for the right to contest the final and finished third, with Carleton and Chicago rounding out the top five.

Valencia (FL) Community College continued their dynasty in the Community College division by winning their third consecutive title, but only after defeating Bevill State (AL) Community College-Jasper in a playoff series that came down to the final tossup. Needing to win twice in row to win the title, Bevill State-Jasper defeated Valencia 180-105 in the first game, but fell 165-150 in the second. Valencia joins Princeton as the only schools to win an ICT championship three years in a row while Bevill State-Jasper has now finished second, third, and second in the three years the Community College division has existed. Palm Beach (FL) Community College took home the third place trophy, with Broward (FL) Community College taking fourth place and South Georgia College fifth place.

The tournament All-Stars, based on performance in the initial round-robin games, were:

Division I

  1. Sudheer Potru, Illinois
  2. Raj Dhuwalia, Florida
  3. Jason Keller, Rutgers
  4. Fred Bush, Rochester
  5. Jeff Hoppes, Cal-Berkeley


  1. Sudheer Potru, Illinois
  2. Leo Wolpert, Michigan B
  3. Andrew Ullsperger, Illinois
  4. Yogesh Raut, Stanford
  5. Matthew Cvijanovich, Iowa State

Division II

  1. Paul Drube, St. Thomas
  2. Charles Meigs, UCLA
  3. Andrew Moore, Georgia
  4. Patrick Hope, Carleton
  5. David Kiang, Illinois

Community College

  1. Amy Harvey, Valencia
  2. Adam Pinson, Bevill-Jasper
  3. Samuel Sklaroff, Broward
  4. Brett Hamoch, Snead State
  5. Greg Garbee, Palm Beach

Complete team and individual statistics for both Division I and Division II are available.

The tournament was held on the campus of Washington University in St. Louis on April 2-3 and featured 64 of the top teams in the nation.

The NAQT website is maintained by Chad Kubicek